Skip to content ↓



Primary School

Pursue Possibilities

Love Learning

The EYFS Curriculum is divided into seven areas of learning all of which are interconnected and important in children’s development. They are as follows:

Three Prime Areas

       Communication and Language

We plan and provide rich opportunities for the children to develop their speaking and listening skills both in large and small group situations. Children learn the importance of listening and engaging with stories and conversations.

Physical Development

All our children are encourage to be active and to be interactive. Through a wide range of         activities the children develop their control and co-ordination. The children learn the importance of healthy eating and how to take care of their own needs, for example, taking off their own sweatshirt on a warm day.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Children are encouraged to develop their self-confidence and to manage their feelings and behaviour appropriately. Children are helped to form positive relationships with each other and to have respect for others.

Four Specific Areas


This involves linking letters and sounds and learning how to read and write. We aim to give the children the confidence to become independent writers and to gain a lifelong love of reading.


This includes counting, recognising and using numbers as well as exploring the composition of different numbers. Children learn about patterns within numbers such as doubles and odd and even numbers. They also explore 2D and 3D shapes, measures and spatial awareness. We encourage all our children to apply their knowledge to solving problems and to develop their ability to explain their methods.

      Understanding the World

Children explore and discover the world around them. They are sensitive to the similarities and differences between themselves and others, exploring different countries and cultures. 

Creative Development

The children use a wide range of media to express themselves and to develop their thoughts, ideas and feelings. This includes dancing, role-play, using musical instruments, painting and creating models.

Our Classrooms

The children work both inside the classrooms and in our shared outdoor area.  Practitioners plan carefully to ensure that all seven areas of learning are fun, challenging and interactive. Children engage in both adult led tasks where they work closely with a practitioner and independent activities, where they develop and extend their own learning.